top of page
Search
  • margaretkellymulle

Blog Post #2

These last two weeks have been EXHAUSTING. Let me tell you, commuting to Milwaukee is no easy task. I began working at the US Forest Service and their regional office. Juxtaposed to my internship at Adler Planetarium, the difference is stark. I have a GIANT cubicle, honestly bigger than my bedroom in my apartment. The work is much less collaborative and mentally stimulating but combined I have begun to find balance and appreciation for the different responsibilities I have been tasked with at each job. At USFS, I am transcribing land ownership information into Excel, checking deeds and other civil suits in order to determine who owns the minerals (and natural resources) under the ground in the Shawnee National Forest. Side note, Ken told me that in August the National Park Service and researchers from the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory are joining Adler on the NITELITE project for two reasons:

#1: Chicago is one of the biggest cities in the US and there is an immense amount of light pollution due to the urban environment.

#2: Chicago is also has the largest amount of migratory birds traveling through it in fall (I believe)

Together, these two pieces of information make the case study of Chicago incredibly relevant to the study of the ecological effects of light pollution on avian species. Ken is also working on introducing me to the representatives from these institutions because of my desire to move west (either Salt Lake City or Portland, where these two notable institutions reside) as well as my upcoming graduation date (cross your fingers!). I am very much so looking forward to working on this project in the upcoming evenings, but before that, we have to rebuild the NITELITE payload! On the last test launch (the first one over Chicago at night actually), the balloon burst early and ended up falling into Lake Michigan; it has yet to be found ): Hopefully I’ll be able to continue (and learn better) time management and organizational skills. Trying to maintain clarity and efficiency amidst this interesting schedule is proving to be a challenge, but each day I find more motivation to better myself in order to conclude this busy summer (& graduate on time…& figure out where I’m going next).

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog Post #5

Hi there So the last two weeks were full of urgency as we tried to troubleshoot the NITELITE system at Adler. Last week, we were stalled in the decision making process revolving around ensuring the AC

Blog Post #4

WOW. WHAT. A. WEEK. This week without a doubt has been the most fulfilling of the summer, if not my life (straight up). So, over the last two weeks I have been mostly working at Adler preparing for th

Blog Post #3

These last two weeks have flown by! Despite what was originally planned, my schedule transitioned such that I have been working four days a week at the US Forest Service and twice a week at Adler Plan

bottom of page